Centrebet Racing

What are G1 VRC Sprint Classic and Australian group races?

What are G1 VRC Sprint Classic and Australian group races?

The VRC Sprint Classic, also known and registered as the Victoria Racing Club Stakes, is a Victoria Racing Club Group One Thoroughbred horse race for horses aged three years old and over, under weight for age conditions, over a distance of 1200 metres held at Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Australia on the last day of the VRC Spring Carnival.  Total prize money for the race is A$1,000,000. G1 VRC Sprint Classic is this group 1 race of VRC Sprint Classic.

This year the race was run as race five at Flemington on Saturday, November 9th 2019. The race is considered one of the major sprints of the spring racing calendar. Prior to 2006 the race was held on the first day of the VRC Spring Carnival, Victoria Derby day, but was moved the following year to the last day of the carnival. In 2007 the sprint was also changed to weight-for-age conditions.

How to bet on the VRC Sprint Classic?

How to bet on the VRC Sprint Classic?

You can bet on the VRC Sprint Classic with online bookmakers such as Sportsbet, BetEasy and Ladbrokes offer a quick and easy online betting service. Once you have signed up simply navigate your way to the correct market and click on the odds of the horse you wish to bet on. You can then enter the amount you wish to bet and all you will need to do is confirm your bet.

To live stream the VRC Sprint Classic many of these bookies online live stream the VRC Sprint Classic.

The history of VRC Sprint Classic

The history of VRC Sprint Classic

VRC Sprint Classic first run in 1960 as the Craven ‘A’ Stakes and won by Karina with numerous changes to the race name since. A Group One since 1979, it switched from Derby Day to the last Cup-week meeting, Emirates Stakes Day, in 2007. It’s one of the major spring sprints and falls 15 days after the Manikato Stakes sprint at Moonee Valley, Australia’s richest night race. Only three four-year-olds have won the Sprint Classic since 2000 including Delectation (2015), Mental (2012) and Black Caviar (2010) while no three-year-old has won the race since Pharein in 1999 The 2010 VRC Sprint Classic was Black Caviar’s first Group One victory and eighth in her 25 race winning streak, with the famed mare going on to win the race again in 2011

VRC Sprint Classic Winners are Vain (1969), Century (1973), Special (1988), Takeover Target (2004), Miss Andretti (2007), Black Caviar (2010, 2011) Buffering (2013), Redzel (2017), Santa Ana Lane (2018)

G1 Australian Races

G1 Australian Races

Australian Group Races are the highest class of thoroughbred race in Australian racing. The Australian Racing Board approves recommended Group races which are then published in ‘The Blue Book’ by the Jockey Club in the United States to allow Australian feature races to receive international recognition.

The most recognized group races in Australia are the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup and WS Cox Plate, which are all Group 1 races.

Group races are divided into 4 categories:

Group 1 – at least $350,000 prizemoney – 60+ races per season
Group 2 – at least $175,000 prizemoney – 80+ races per season
Group 3 – at least $115,000 prizemoney – 110+ races per season
Listed (Group 4) – at least $80,000 prizemoney – 280+ races per season

Owners, breeders, trainers jockeys all aspire to win Group races, the bigger the better, and they are commonly referred to as ‘Black Type’ races and are more prominent at major racing carnivals, especially Melbourne, and Sydney during autumn or spring. Brisbane, Adelaide & Perth also have prominent racing carnivals throughout the year.

Group races often have regular name changes due to new sponsorship deals but overall stay much the same, although a Group race may change status at any point in time if a particular race changes up or down in value according to set out criteria. Group races total over 540+ races each year and assume around 2-3% of total races held each season in Australia.

The Australian Spring Race Carnival

The Australian Spring Race Carnival

The Spring Racing Carnival in Australia comes alive during the months of September through to November and showcases some of the best horse racing Australia has to offer.

The Melbourne Spring Carnival is considered to be the premier racing carnival in Australia with many of the richest and most prestigious races taking throughout the carnival.

Some of the feature Group One races run during the Melbourne Spring Carnival include the Caulfield Guineas, Caulfield Stakes, Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and the Melbourne Cup.

The Melbourne Cup Carnival held over 4 days at Flemington is a particular highlight of the Melbourne Spring with 4 feature race days including Victoria Derby day, Melbourne Cup day, Oaks day and Stakes day.

Sydney racing often rivals Melbourne during the Spring with a host of top quality races including group one races such as the Golden Rose, Epsom Handicap and Spring Champion Stakes.

The Everest, Australia’s richest race, is also a highlight of the Spring Carnival with the $14 million race run at Randwick Racecourse in October.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *